Nigel Walsh

Church musician and composer

In the Stillness

Here are choral settings of six of Richard Skinner’s set of sixteen poems based on the writings of the fourteenth century English mystic, Julian of Norwich. Each takes as its starting point one of the images, phrases or insights from each of Julian’s sixteen revelations. The poems are intended to be in keeping with the spirit of Julian without following her to the letter, and are published as In The Stillness (Dilettante 1990).

The songs are sung here by the Exeter Chamber Choir in the Parish Church of St Peter, Shaldon, Devon in 2012. Click on the links below to hear them.

  1. A little thing
  2. The seeking of the soul
  3. Like Father, like Son
  4. In the stillness
  5. In weal or woe
  6. All shall be well

Scores for download can be purchased here.

A CD is available – price £5.99 + p&p – that includes the six songs In the stillness, plus four anthems – For the beauty of the earth, Come, Holy Spirit, Pie Jesu and Let us with a gladsome mind – all sung by the Langford Singers. Please contact me if you would like to purchase one.